top of page

I do not Understand - A.N.

I don't understand

Why little children cry at playgrounds

Why their small fists, the size of small rocks

clench in childish frustration.

I don't understand why they let out cries

of anger with a tinge of sadness

All because the swings are occupied


I don't understand

Why the nice girl is silently despaired

Why she, bright and sociable to an envious point

Must suffer, because of a father with anger issues.

I don't understand why she hides her pain.

All because of other people.


I don't understand

Why some people think highly of me.

Why the same people ignore me

and only ask for me when they need help

I don't understand why they bully people

who are fundamentally the same as them

All because they don't like minute differences


I do not understand

Why war happens.

Why people take weapons in their arms to fight.

I don't understand why people want tragedy.

Why they use bullets instead of words

Letting the gunshots speak for them

All because they wouldn't listen,

and because nobody understood.


BIOGRAPHY:

A.N. is a musician, stage actor, artist and poet who is currently a high school student. His writing tends to tackle philosophical questions, and he typically uses his poetry to question the reasons for human nature, as well as an outlet for his thoughts. His musical compositions, as well as his artworks showcase the same ideas in a more abstract manner.

0 comments
bottom of page