top of page

Colours of Love - MoonRayy

nervous whispers sucked mute into the wee hours of the night,

I open the door to my Narnia and pull a body inside,

sit him on my bed

and ask, "what would you like tonight?"

"Love," I get a hushed reply coupled with a nervous smile


so I clasp a brown, ringed hand in mine


the nails I paint pink aren't mine tonight.

and a gasp sounds in wonder as the first drops of the thin, almost translucent liquid laps at pink cuticles

thirsty, deprived.

like a drop of water, clinging on to dry sand,

like this was the moment it had been waiting for all this while,

and,




the room erupts in a frenzy of squeals and giggles as we admire the embraces I paint onto his fingers

pink

blue

and purple

shades of myself

love,

love,

and so much love;

how do we contain it? it's spilling off his fingers and into my hands, seeping into my skin, painting a rainbow tan.


and we pretend to not see that large, white bottle of acetone that sits in my closet, glaring at the back of our heads

as his battle against society, the triumph of an odyssey cements itself unto his nails

and we ignore its sour stench of volatility that hangs heavy between us and turn deaf to the bitter promises of erasure it spits as us

as his wet dreams dry on his nails,

as a single drop falls on our hands and another from an eyelash hangs,

we pretend my art and his liberation will survive to see the light of day

will stun and dazzle and awe the world beyond my bedroom door,

will live to be more than just closeted lore.


BIOGRAPHY:

MoonRayy (she/her) is the pen to a 17 year old emerging creator based in South Asia. She is passionate about all forms of art, especially writing and drawing. She loves to experiment with her pieces and likes to explore human emotions and experiences through the medium of her work.

0 comments
bottom of page